Stereotypically Able Movement–A Time of Change and Recognition

I love this post. I think we all need to focus on achieving, and helping others achieve, all that we want, instead of spouting reasons why we, or they, can’t.

Stereotypically Able

With the society we live in, stereotypes are everywhere we turn. Whether it be the popular girls being stereotyped as being “bitches” because of their social class, or jocks being stereotyped as “dumb”. One stereotype that really gets under my skin is that all disabled people are considered “dumb” or “retarded”.

For those of who know me, know I hate when I get put into a box or have people tell me what is best for me, or what they think is best for me without really knowing me as a person. Yes, I have cerebral palsy, and use a walker to help me walk, but that does not make me any less of a person. I have heard people flat out say that they feel sorry for the person because since they have a disability their life would be too hard, or that they cannot go for their dreams…

View original post 312 more words

One thought on “Stereotypically Able Movement–A Time of Change and Recognition”

I love comments, I REALLY love reblogs, hint, hint :)

