Huh, Well Whaddya Know

This is all brand new to me. As just an ordinary (more or less) person, with no special training in writing or communications, I have been at this now for about 2 months or so. My whole goal was strictly personal, simply to use it as a tool to order my thoughts more clearly, as a result of forcing myself to write them down, and also as a form of therapy. I sorta write the way I talk, and I am not especially worried about correct usage or grammar. In fact I get to swearing at the blasted machine when it highlights all these areas where I need a comma, or more often, when I choose to use one, and it says it is unnecessary, or even incorrect. Ya know, I’m gonna put the blasted commas wherever I damn well please, thank you, and I really don’t care greatly if it is technically correct or not! I would say I don’t give a shit, especially since I am not doing this for popularity, or for money, but honestly, that would be a little too harsh. The matter really is that underneath it all, I really AM somewhat interested in writing something that people will want to read, and I do care that it mostly be (incorrect verb form with personal pronoun) in proper form. I get annoyed myself at people who make common grammatical mistakes, and make common mistakes in word choice. I did get mostly “A”s in high school and college English after all. By using the simple, and sometimes frustrating spell checkers and auto-correction tools, one has no excuse for tons of silly mistakes.  The freakin’ tools are free, for God’s sake, take a second to use them! (this is aimed only at those who don’t, and whose conversations are riddled with mistakes, many of which are mostly unreadable.  Don’t accuse me of targetting YOUR specific writing unless, of course, the shoe fits, or the foo shits, either one).

Everyone thinks their life is boring, or at least uninteresting to anyone else. I am like that too, but I learned something from reading all these blogs that are simply accounts of the ordinary daily occurrences of typical human beings. I found that as long as they are well written, these posts are not nearly as boring or uninteresting as their writers seem to think they are. After about two months of this, I have collected about 60 followers. Now maybe that is peanuts to what a pro would expect, or someone with a large ego, but I never expected anyone, really, to be interested in the daily happenings of my boring life, or the stream-of-consciousness ramblings of my mind, or even the thought-out, serious spiritual posts I have been doing. Feedback has been quite surprising, even shocking. Now eloquent is NOT a word “I” would use to describe any of my writing, but I have been told exactly that, by more than one person (and NOT family, who are at least biased, and possibly obligated to say good things). I have been told that I am funny.  Now, I will agree that sometimes I can be slightly humorous, but not ROTFLMAO funny. Also people have commented that I am either intellectual, or insightful.  Again, I would slightly agree that my serious posts are somewhat intellectual, especially the spiritual ones. The whole point of this paragraph is that, the seemingly ordinary and boring occurrences of our lives, are actually much more interesting to others than we realize (as long as they are at least somewhat well written). Also, that evidently I am a lot more interesting, funny, and insightful than I ever would have given myself credit for being. One conclusion that can be postulated is that blogging CAN be an effective way to bolster your self-esteem, and combat loneliness and depression.

One of my close friends, who I love, told me that blogging can be a great way to meet people, and as a result, actually form romantic relationships with them.  One thing I suffer terribly with, (improper comma between subject and verb) is loneliness.  I have been very lonely, for a very long time, not to mention the state of my sex life!  I never(incorrect placement of negative adverb, well fuck me!) would have thought of blogging as a dating tool, but my friend insisted that it can be done, after all, I met HER that way! (insert snide smiley….Oops, emoji, here).  So ladies, feel free to contact me (even if it isn’t for a date), and DO comment on my posts.  Guys, you are welcome to contact me or comment on my posts, but we will not be dating (that’s just me).

I certainly never set out to collect any certain type of follower.  If anything, I was just curious if anybody would read my crap.  I have, however, collected a number of people who suffer from bipolar disorder, which I understand, and have experience with as a social worker in a group home setting.  This was in the past, but not that long ago, and I worked at it for 6 years.  To those followers I want to say…if you think your life is something that nobody would be interested in reading about…the normal daily events of a person with bipolar disorder, are anything BUT boring or uninteresting.  In some cases, those events can be incredibly entertaining, and informative, to the reader (although a tough struggle to live through).  Never think that your courage in bringing your private lives to the public will remain unnoticed and/or unappreciated, or that the events of your lives have even the slightest chance of boring your audience!  Keep up the illuminating and helpful work you are doing.

Huh, well whaddya know, I never would have thought anyone would actually ENJOY reading the stuff I write!  Thank you all for following my blog, (incorrect use of comma) and for giving me so much unexpected and surprising (to me) feedback.  Peace, Love, and Happiness to you all!

10 thoughts on “Huh, Well Whaddya Know”

    1. Although I may have to doubt your judgement, or possibly sanity, I thank you very much for that wonderful comment. I think I may have it framed! If I should ever have a fan club, I think you should be its president.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Since I am so good at being him, maybe I should change my name to “Frank”. Hmm, could be worse…thanks for your comment. You know, the grammar police don’t own the world. “Frank-ly”, I don’t think they have it perfectly right anyway. Who said a bunch of university brats should make the language rules for the rest of us? They aren’t Congress, after all, and don’t get me started on THEIR competency….sounds like a good blog – “if congress made the grammar rules”. Anyway, thanks again!

      Like

I love comments, I REALLY love reblogs, hint, hint :)

