BOTHERED

Hi there…Happy Saturday.

I find myself bothered this week by a trend I have been seeing in both politics and YouTube videos. Yes, it isn’t new, and maybe it has something to do with the particular videos I have been watching (my bad). It bothers me nonetheless (who even uses “nonetheless” anymore).

I have seen a constant barrage of hate, anger, judgement, and disparagement of others…maybe because I watched the Republican National Convention this week, hmmm? I partly blame the “media” for what they purposely choose to present to the public, but why do they choose only negative issues to present? You would think that there were no positive stories anywhere in the world.

Of course, since money is the ONLY driving factor in business, then they choose whatever sells to the public, which happens to be lots of violence. The public seems to really like fighting because of its sensationalism. This is even more worrying. Why does the public want to concentrate on death, anger, and struggle? Maybe because people are angry, frustrated, and desperate for anything to deflect their attention from their own problems? This is enough to bother anyone who gives a moment’s thought to what is going on.

I am also finding that many of the YouTube videos that gain the most views include those which make fun of other YouTube video creators, demean them, and point out the (perceived) stupidity in them. The inspirational ones are not nearly so popular because they are not as sensationalistic. OK, I said this was not a new phenomenon. It has been happening for a long time. Maybe that is ONE reason why our society remains filled with violence…don’t you think, maybe?

Whatever we all focus our attention on, feeds into the collective subconscious, and affects the mood of those around us, the country, and the world. This constant focus on negativity makes it truly difficult on those who wish to encourage peace, love, and the celebration of our beautiful diversity, to make the world a better place. As we have just entered the Aquarian age, a time when all humanity will eventually come together in peace and harmony, we see increased resistance to the change. I have a feeling it will get a lot worse before it gets better. Change never comes easy, even when it is change for the benefit of everyone.

Well…here’s to hoping for more positive vibes! But I remain bothered…for now…

2 thoughts on “BOTHERED”

  1. Lack of civility is a concern of mine, too. I was talking with a friend about the convention, and she mentioned what she liked about the Republican candidate was he said the things most people thought but were afraid to say! I was dumbfounded.

    Are people that vile and prejudiced? I hope she is wrong but fear we will find out in November how many people in America are just that.

    In my parents’ generation, my parents at least, the attitude was you were respectful of the president even when you disagreed with his policies. The same went for those running for the office.

    The low brow campaign run by the Republican candidate would have distressed my parents greatly and, though they voted straight Republican ticket most of their lives, I can’t believe they would have voted for this year’s candidate.

    Liked by 1 person

I love comments, I REALLY love reblogs, hint, hint :)

